Glenn & Lana Re-elected!


The AEC has declared that Glenn Fowler (Branch Secretary) and Lana Read (Branch President) have both been elected unopposed to serve in 2015/16.

The AEU ACT Branch President & Secretary are elected by financial members every two years.

The current two year term for Branch Secretary expires on the 31st of December. The ballot for the 2015/ 2016 term was conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) in accordance with provisions of the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 and AEU ACT Branch Rules. Nominations were called for and opened on November 3 and closed on November 17.

On November 18, the AEC advised that the number of nominations accepted did not exceed the number of positions to be filled and, as such, declared Glenn Fowler and Lana Read elected as Secretary and President respectively.

Branch Secretary - Glenn Fowler

Glenn_at_Gonski_Rally_2.jpg The Branch Secretary is the most senior position in our branch. The Secretary is a voting member of Branch Council and Branch Executive and the senior manager of AEU ACT staff.

Subject to direction from Branch Council and Branch Executive, the Secretary:

 * exercises control over, and conducts the affairs of, the Branch;

 * ensures that the Rules of the Union and the Branch are adhered to at all       times;

 * provides political, industrial and professional leadership to the Branch;
 * and manages the finances and staff of the Branch.

Before starting as a Schools Organiser with the AEU, Glenn taught History, English and Global Relations at Dickson College and before that at Lake Ginninderra College and at Melrose High School.

He won the 2007 Australian National University Prize for Excellence in Secondary Teaching.

Glenn worked in a range of union roles before being elected Secretary at the beginning of 2013. He counts as one of his highlights leading the industrial action in 2011 which led to long-awaited salary justice for ACT teachers, who went from the bottom of the national salary table to a competitive third in 2012.

Glenn and wife Marina, also an ACT public school teacher, live with their two children in Michelago.

Branch President - Lana Read

Lana_Read_22.jpgThe Branch President presides at all meetings of Branch Executive, Branch Council, Stop Work meetings and Mass meetings and exercises a casting vote.

It is an honorary position. Lana has and will continue to perform this very busy role in addition to being Principal of MacGregor Primary School.

Lana has been AEU ACT Branch President since 2013.

She has previously been a Deputy Principal at Evatt, Kingsford Smith and Amaroo and an assistant manager in HR recruitment.

She’s particularly passionate about the Arts, Outdoor Education, alternative programs for at-risk students and developing student voice through leadership programs.

Log in to update your membership details and access member­only news and information