Jervis Bay School Advancing the Cause of Reconciliation

Congratulations to an outstanding team of teachers building hope and pride in their school community

The 2014 AEU ACT Reconciliation Award was presented to the staff of Jervis Bay School. Congratulations, Tim Jasprizza, Libby Hicks, Megan McMahon, Katrina Watson, Nicole Stevens, Harry Sawkins, Bronwen Rutherford and Caroline Corrigan.

They are a dedicated, caring and hardworking team of teachers, inspirational in recognising and building on the work of our Indigenous parents/carers as first teachers of their children. 

They have demonstrated a willingness to undertake an at times fairly confronting local Wreck Bay Community Indigenous cultural awareness program which showcases the history of contact and its consequences through the stories passed down through the generations.

Additionally, the Jervis Bay teaching staff have developed a unique, creative and innovative Junior Rangers Program. This is a best practice program that strengthens school-community partnerships and ensures Indigenous perspectives are valued and respected learning outcomes. Through the hard work of staff, this program has improved attendance, student cultural identity and pride and student, parent and community engagement in the school.

Staff have worked very closely with the community to extend this program to develop a Wreck Bay Language Program which has been introduced throughout the school and this program was showcased at the Jervis Bay School Public Education Assembly on Tuesday.

In a disadvantaged community, teachers are giving Indigenous children belief that they can achieve and do well at school; that there is a future where further education, training and employment are real life options that can be achieved.

In giving a school community hope, pride and respect, the staff of Jervis Bay School embody the deepest values of public education. They are very worthy winners of the 2014 Australian Education Union ACT Reconciliation Award.

Thank you to Teachers Health Fund for generous sponsorship of the 2014 AEU ACT Reconciliation Award.



Log in to update your membership details and access member­only news and information